mariah

Fear is a liar! It sits right beside the throne of lies. It is always a question of what if I don’t? What if I do? Because the inevitable is that there is always a means to get there. If there is a smooth sail means, then it should be well-chronicled, I will wait!

But see I have learned that the greatest fear is not whether we will achieve what we want to achieve but it is whether we can withstand the pain, the rough edges, the blades that cut through, the saws that grill, the heat that burns! Basically we fear to even get started, at least I do.

Recently I was with my friends climbing a hill, encroaching each of its path but I was left behind. Just as I was done with the phone call, I realized that no one was around, they had already made it to the other side so I heaved a major sigh, thinking of whether to retrace myself back to the starting point or whether to work through the bushy, pebbly, thorny terrain.

My intentions were totally undefined at that point. My thought train had enormous reservations. I was scared of the first step and the fact that I had to work through the raffles. So with every pant, I attempted to reposition my mentality so much so that I could identify a focus pull. So when I finally heard familiar voices, I realized I was almost there. So what was I scared about again?? of beginning and feeling the pain of the means, which clearly didn’t kill me.

Franklin D. Roosevelt once said that the only thing that we have to fear is fear itself. Probably because it robs us off our capabilities. What drives me though in this essence is Marianne Williamson’s popular quote that Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?’ Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God.

So roll around in that mad, get over those momentary life slaps and make up your mind about what you want to do, that way fear will never stand your sight. Know yourself and know the enemy in your battles and fight to the very end. At least Andre Gide affirmed this by saying that there are very few monsters who warrant the fear we have of them.

Today’s edition covers Mariah Carey’s Make it Happen. Absolutely amazing piece that lets you know that where you are makes sense. This beautiful songstress wrote the beautiful lyrics alongside David Cole and Robert ClivillĂ©s and no doubt it numbs all my fears. Enjoy the lyrics as they speak to your soul!

MAKE IT HAPPEN By Mariah Carey

Not more than three short years ago
I was abandoned and alone
Without a penny to my name
So very young and so afraid
No proper shoes upon my feet
Sometimes I couldn’t even eat
I often cried myself to sleep
But still I had to keep on going
Never knowing if I could take it
If I would make it through the night
I held on to my faith
I struggled and I prayed
And now I’ve found my way

(Chorus)
If you believe in yourself enough
And know what you want
You’re gonna make it happen
Make it happen
And if you get down on your knees at night
And pray to the Lord
He’s gonna make it happen
Make it happen

I know life can be so tough
And you feel like giving up
But you must be strong
Baby just hold on
You’ll never find the answers
If you throw your life away
I used to feel the way you do
Still I had to keep on going
Never knowing if I could take it
If I would make it through the night
I held on to my faith
I struggled and I prayed
And now I’ve finally found my way

(Chorus)

I once was lost
But now I’m found
I got my feet
On solid ground
Thank you Lord
If you believe
Within your soul
Just hold on tight
And don’t let go
You can make it
Make it happen

(Chorus)

Leave a Reply

